Giant Mechs and Guns Abound in Global Frequency Studios’ “Mavrics: Origins”

Late last week, Global Frequency Studios launched a crowdfunding campaign for Mavrics: Origins Vol. One, a 60-page graphic novel intended for fans of Battletech, Gundam, and Armored Core (what – no Iron Soldier love?).

At the time of this writing, the campaign is already fully funded, so now all that’s left to worry about is stretch goals and fulfillment.

Written and created by Aaron Neff and featuring illustrations by Garrett Gabbey and lettering by the prolific Eric Weathers, Mavrics is described as a “sci-fi epic” where “elite pilots in robotic combat suits wage war on the battlefield of tomorrow.”

Here’s the official plot synopsis taken from the Mavrics: Origins Indiegogo campaign page:

In an alternate future ravaged by a global collapse dubbed “The Cascade,” rival nations wage war for global domination and fight for control of what remains.

The Unification of Zhongguo intends to conquer all of Asia, and the only thing standing in their way is the Northern Continental Alliance. As their battle rages on, both sides seek to develop a technological key to ultimate victory.

Now, in the skeletal remains of war-torn Ulaanbaatar, a squad of six brave pilots on a seemingly mundane mission to rescue a group of refugees, will encounter more than they bargained for – and uncover a dangerous secret.

Backers can get a digital version of Mavrics: Origins Vol. One for $15, while the base physical edition starts at $20, and comes with a print, bookmark, a digital version of the book, and any stretch goals unlocked during the campaign. If you have more cash to spend, there’s even more swag to be snagged, including:

  • Multiple copies of the book
  • Variant covers
  • Additional art prints
  • Double-sided metal prints
  • Dog tags
  • Original artwork
  • A collector’s box
  • A supplemental ashcan book
  • Travel Mug
  • A 3D printed figurine
  • Gaming Mat
  • Flash drive loaded with bonus content

It is also worth noting that there is an additional shipping charge starting at $10 for those in the United States.

Interested? You can check out some sample artwork below or visit the full Mavrics: Origins Indiegogo campaign page here.

Thanks for reading!

Please consider following The Splintering on social media or bookmarking the site for more independent entertainment news, views, and commentary!


The Splintering’s Teespring store has items for all budgets, great and small! If you like what we do & want to help keep our site 100% free of paid ads, go here!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s