Teeter on the Edge of Sanity in Michael Siegenthaler’s “SKITS: ORIGIN”

On Monday, launched a crowdfunding campaign for SKITS: ORIGIN Book 0, a girthy 100-page follow-up (sorta) to SKITS: THE SON Book 1, which was successfully crowdfunded in 2020 and fulfilled in 2021. The ORIGIN project is already fully funded, having raised nearly $2 thousand at the time of this writing.

Created, written and illustrated by Michael Siegenthaler, SKITS tells a mind-bending story about an asylum escapee on the edge of sanity.

Here’s the official breakdown of the project taken from the SKITS: ORIGIN Indiegogo campaign page:

Welcome to the ORIGIN story of SKITS and dive into the world of dreams from the very beginning. Hello All! I’m Michael Siegenthaler, creator and illustrator for SKITS. A six book, graphic comic book on the next level of surreal dreams and reality. Jump into my whimsical world from the start of my very first dream through story and art and take a look at how far my dreams have taken me to develop SKITS as he goes on his very first adventures.

What’s the Story?

SKITS came from a series of sequential dreams I had while working the graveyard shift at a local T.V. station right after college graduation. My sleeping patterns blurred my dreams into a waking reality where my nights became my days and my days became my nights. The surrealism of waking up from this cycle blurred my days where I dreamt up my character SKITS exactly as you see him. All of the detail, his adventures walking or flying in my dream, even down to the medical scrubs, industrial sized boots, to the very straight jacket you see SKITS wearing on his journey.

Can You Tell The Difference Between Your Dreams and Reality? Is There A Difference?

We asked this same question for readers of SKITS: THE SON, BOOK 1 which debuted our 3 Book variant cover and storyline comic book that saw SKITS escape the insane asylum when he blinks his eyes. Our choose your own adventure comic brought the reader into the dream world of SKITS. Other worldly planets, ships in the air, technology cut off by the native people and portal jumping are all part of SKITS’ story. Will SKITS crack under the revelations he’s about to uncover or will the reader be trapped in a dream world blurring their own reality? Will SKITS wake up? Will You?

Backers can get a digital version of SKITS: ORIGIN for $5, while signed physical copies (along with a digital PDF) start at $25. If you have more cash to spend, you can also receive the following:

It is also worth noting that there is an additional shipping charge starting at $10 for backers in the United States.

Interested? You can check out some sample artwork below or visit the full SKITS: ORIGIN Book 0 Indiegogo campaign page here. Still on the fence? You can also read our review of here. Do it.

Thanks for reading!

Please consider following The Splintering on social media or bookmarking the site for more independent entertainment news, views, and commentary!


The Splintering’s TeesPublic store has items for all budgets, great and small! If you like what we do & want to help keep our site 100% free of paid ads, go here!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s